The UN Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) is the principal global intergovernmental body exclusively dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women.

During the Commission’s annual two-week session, representatives of UN Member States, civil society organisations and UN entities gather at the UN headquarters in New York. Here they discuss progress and gaps in the implementation of the 1995 Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, the key global policy document on gender equality, and the 23rd special session of the General Assembly held in 2000 (Beijing+5), as well as emerging issues that affect gender equality and the empowerment of women. Member States agree on further actions to accelerate progress and promote women’s enjoyment of their rights in political, economic and social fields. The outcomes and recommendations of each session are forwarded to ECOSOC for follow-up.

CSW has become one of Global Voices' flagship opportunities with an overwhelming number of applications received for this delegation each year.

Recommended for students from a wide variety of disciplines and tertiary backgrounds. The diversity of topics covered in the summit reflects the many intersecting issues related to gender equality.

Highlight meetings from our 2016 delegation (New York City):

·     Gillian Bird, Australian Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations.

·     Elizabeth Broderick, Australia’s Sex Discrimination Commissioner and founder of Male Champions for Change.

·     Natasha Stott-Despoja, Australian Ambassador for Women and Girls.

·     Elizabeth Shaw, President of UN Women Australia and former Global Voices Board Director.

·     Sally Moyle, Principal Gender Specialist, DFAT.

·     Michael Sheldrick, Global Director of Policy and Advocacy, Global Citizen.

·     Formal evening reception at the Australian Mission to the UN.

·     Attendance at New York’s Global Citizen and Chime for Change events

In 2019, Global Voices has partnered with RMIT University, CQU, Curtin University, University of Sydney Faculty of Arts and Social Science, Macquarie University and Griffith University Honours College. If you are a student at one of our partner institutions, click on your logo below for more information and to apply from the 5th July - 4th August.

our 2016 Delegation, New York City

our 2016 Delegation, New York City